Big Chute Marine is the only marine railway of its kind in North America. This lock operates as a open carriage that runs on a railway going into the water allowing the boats to drive onto it and be lifted up by straps. The lift then proceeds to move across 60 feet of dry land to place the boat back into the water on the other side of the ridge between Severn River and Gloucester Pool. Big Chute has large grounds for picnicking and boater camping.
Clean marine certified and eco-rated marina. 105 boat docks with a max. length of 60′. 12 covered slips, transient docks, shore power and 25′ draft. Indoor and outdoor storage, launching ramp, 10 ton fork lift and 10 hydraulic trailers. Miscellaneous services: washrooms, showers, restaurant, variety store, groceries, snack bar, drinking water and ice.
Located in Brechin Ontario. Brechin Artifacts has a huge inventory of stone statues and yard ornaments for every budget. We have an extensive supply on hand and if we do not have it in stock we will search what you desire from our massive network of suppliers to satisfy every customer. Our mission is to make every customer’s needs met, no matter how big or small.
VISION: We see a city in which culture is understood to be central to making Orillia a place where people want to live, work, play and invest. We see a city that is a regional hub for tourism built on the quality of its natural and cultural environment, and the vitality of arts, heritage and cultural activities. We see a city that values its downtown as a social, economic, and cultural hub of the community. We see a city where growth and development are managed in a way that preserves the community’s natural and cultural assets and its unique small town ambience and identity. We see a city that values public space across the community, working to protect and enhance it through effective urban design and art in public places. We see a city that supports and values a dynamic cultural sector of arts, heritage and cultural organizations and individuals committed to collaboration and shared resources.
You can touch history at Coldwater Canadiana Heritage Museum including The Woodrow Homestead which sits on 6.5 acres of parkland. We promote, collect, and retain history of Coldwater and surrounding areas from 1830 to 1950. Admission is by Donation. We are open from May through to Labour Day, Monday through Saturday from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Enjoy our Devon Teas every Wednesday afternoon from 1:00 to 4:00 and wander our River Trail winding through Heritage Gardens along the Coldwater River. A Place for Discovery…A Place of Memories. Coldwater Canadiana Heritage Museum is now certified as cycle friendly!
This Landmark Grist Mill in Coldwater was constructed in 1833-34 for the Ojibwa natives who had been settled on 3969 hectares (9800 acres) between the Coldwater River and the Narrows at Orillia, on the western side of Lake Couchiching. It is a special piece of history for the village of Coldwater and is a beautiful site to see. The surrounding grounds with the river flowing by are a fantastic area for local events and a great area to gather. Plan a visit to the Grist Mill to learn more about its history, tour the inside including a local art gallery and craft shop located inside and include a lunch or dinner at the attached Mill St Bistro.
Discovery Harbour traces its roots back to the original British naval and military base in Penetanguishene, built to safeguard access to Upper Canada after the War of 1812. “His Majesty’s Naval Establishment on Lake Huron”, (as it was first called) kept ships prepared to supply British posts to the northwest. By 1820, it was home to over 70 people, including sailors, officers, shipwrights, and soldiers. Five large ships, 15 smaller vessels, and numerous workshops and dwellings were built. In 1828, a British garrison on Drummond Island was relocated to Penetanguishene. By 1834, Canada was defended exclusively by these forces. An impressive stone Officers’ Quarters was built in 1845. The military occupied the site until 1856.
Visit Orillia’s perfectly placed downtown just steps away from everything you need! Whether Downtown Orillia is your destination or just a pit stop, expect a wide variety of casual to fine dining restaurants plus dozens of specialty stores to explore! Within walking distance of the grocery and liquor stores, and steps from the waterfront. Downtown Orillia offers everything you want out of your all season getaway. Visit Downtown Orillia to experience everything from art to delicious food to year-round events, street festivals and even a weekly Farmers’ Market. For a list of Downtown Orillia Businesses Click HERE For a Map of Downtown Orillia Businesses Click HERE
LEACOCK MUSEUM NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE – For over fifty years the Leacock Museum has been welcoming visitors to the Old Brewery Bay on the shores of Lake Couchiching. This stately, 19-room summer home represents Stephen Leacock’s lifetime love affair with Orillia, a town he immortalized as the mythical Mariposa in his quintessential best-seller Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town. Included in the nearly 10- acre site are Leacock House, the Boathouse, and the museum archives and administration building. Don’t forget to stop by the Leacock Cafe and enjoy some amazing food and beverages, or stop through on the trails for some ice cream! The museum grounds feature gardens and trails such as the Orillia Millenium Trail or the Lightfoot Trail that travels throughout Orillia along the waterfront, through the property! These trails are ideal for a stroll, especially in their summer fullness or during fall colours. Enjoy the amazing waterfront, located on Lake Couchiching makes for some amazing views and a convenient spot to take a break from paddling and enjoy this local historic site! Open year round and available for rentals, meetings and special events.
About The Mariposa Folk Festival: For more than 50 years, Mariposa has been presenting world class creators and performers of folk, roots, blues, gospel, acoustic and world music traditions in a beautiful, family-friendly setting. The Mariposa Folk Festival is held annual at Tudhope Park in Orillia. About The Mariposa Folk Foundation: Promotion and preservation of folk art through song, dance, craft and spoken word. The Mariposa Folk Foundation is a member-based, registered charitable arts organization.
In 1982, the government recognized the Mnjikaning Fish Weirs as a National Historical Site. In conjunction with Parks Canada and the Mnjikaning Fish Fence Circle, strategic plans are in development to protect and promote the weirs located in our territory. The fish fence at the Atherley Narrows, is located near Rama First Nation. It is a complex system of underwater fences which was used for harvesting fish.
Situated in Ontario Provincial Police General Headquarters, the Museum is open to the public Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm (closed statutory holidays). Free admission. Come and discover more than 100 years of proud policing tradition. Bring the kids, great indoor family activities including building lego, make your own puppet show, try on police uniforms, colouring, watching videos and learning the history of the OPP.
The Orillia Museum of Art & History is located in the historic 1894 Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building in the heart of downtown Orillia’s shopping and restaurant district. This unique art gallery and museum presents significant art & history exhibitions of both regional and national importance.
The Oro African Methodist Episcopal Church re-opened its doors to the public on August 19, 2016 thanks to the support of hundreds across Canada and the USA. On behalf of the Township of Oro-Medonte Council and Staff, we wish to extend our deepest appreciation to everyone involved for making it possible! Thank you. Like Us on Facebook to view photos from the grand re-opening celebration www.facebook.com/oroafricanchurch
The Ramara Historical Society was established to research, document, collect, classify, preserve and edit material illustrating the founding, settlement and development of the former townships of Rama and Mara, which is the geographical area now known as The Township of Ramara and the Chippewas of Rama First Nation. In 2004 a group of interested residents met to form the Ramara Historical Society. The initial goal of this small group was to discover and protect printed materials pertaining to the history of Mara and Rama Townships including the former Rama Reserve. After a few years membership outgrew the Ramara Centre meeting location and we were fortunate to be sponsored by the Township of Ramara for our meeting space at Udney Community Centre where we also have a display case which houses our developing library. For ten years members have met regularly to share information, display personal artefacts and welcome speakers on various topics of historical interest. We have also enjoyed tours of nearby locations which have preserved their history. To inform the community of their heritage we have sponsored experts for our Speaker Nights and taken part with displays and information at many local events. Our collection has expanded to include […]
The hiking trail starts in the south at the historic fish weirs that were built by the Mnjikaning First Nation people.“Mnjikaning” is an Ojibway word meaning “the place of the fish fence.” The trail follows the abandoned CN rail line through pastoral countryside, crossing the Rama Road/Monock Road intersection, along Monock Road to the Trail sign and extending to Mara-Rama Boundary Road. Total distance is just over 5km. Lake Couchiching means “outlet” or “little lake at the end of a big lake” in Ojibway. For downloadable pdf copy and paste the link into your browser: http://bit.ly/1q5spCA
Ontario’s first European Community, Sainte-Marie among the Hurons was the headquarters for the French Jesuit Mission to the Huron Wendat people. In 1639, the Jesuits, along with French lay workers, began construction of a fenced community that included barracks, a church, workshops, residences, and a sheltered area for Native visitors. By 1648, Sainte-Marie was a wilderness home to 66 French men, representing one-fifth of the entire population of New France. Today throughout July and August, Sainte-Marie among the Hurons is pleased to offer fun and informative demonstrations and “hands-on” activities that share aspects of life in the 17th century, including 17th century fire-starting, historic clothing and medicine, native games, 17th century music, historic cooking, and more.
Location & History The Coldwater Memorial Branch is located at 31 Coldwater Road, in the middle of Coldwater’s business district. From our front windows, we have a superb view of the old gristmill with the Coldwater River flowing past. Library services in the village date back to the 1800’s when this was an Indian Village called Gis-se-nau-se-bing (cold river) and lending books brought from Scotland were kept in the Indian Agent’s home. Several other village locations housed books before the present library was built in 1937, as a memorial by the Sheppard family, to their parents Wm. Sheppard and Mary Ellen Buchanan. An additional two rooms were added in 1986-87, one being the Foster Meharry Russell Reading Room, a memorial gift from the family of this former Coldwater newspaper owner. In 1994 Coldwater became part of the new Township of Severn . The Severn Township Library Board now operates this library. About the Library Hours Monday 11:00 – 5:00 Tuesday 11:00 – 7:00 Thursday 11:00 – 7:00 Friday 11:00 – 5:00 Saturday 11:00 – 2:00 Closed Sundays and Wednesdays Contact Information Address Severn Township Public Library – Coldwater Memorial Branch 31 Coldwater Rd., Box 278 Coldwater, ON. L0K 1E0 Phone […]
The Simcoe County Museum was created in 1928 by Women’s Institute members Mrs. C.P. Stocking and Mrs. R.A. Sutherland. The collection was first displayed at the Barrie Public Library, then the Barrie Registry Office. In the 1950s, the County of Simcoe took responsibility for the collection, and the first wing of the Museum was opened on Highway 26 (at the current location) in 1962. Over the years, the museum has grown significantly, and now is composed of a five gallery facility with sixteen outdoor heritage and display buildings. At the Simcoe County Museum, we believe that our visitors should be able to experience history first hand in a museum that is engaging and exciting. Come to the Museum and discover the stories behind our collection of over 30,000 artifacts!
Singing HeART Studios is a … Fibre and Mixed Media Arts Studio, a Canadian Artists Collective, and a Gallery. We empower imaginative thinking through creative expression. We offer convenient, unique opportunities to become engaged through imaginative, informative workshops and classes. Our Boutique features beautiful materials and kits for rug hooking, knitting, felting, upcylcing and re-purposing of fabric, furniture, and decor.Our focus is Canadian, environmentally friendly and socially conscious Art. Singing heART Studios inspires the imagination specialist in all of us. We are flexible and accommodating. Contact us today to experience the wonderful world of fibre and mixed media arts!
Streets Alive! is an annual outdoor art event in downtown Orillia open to the public all summer long. It draws locals, cottagers and tourists to Orillia’s downtown streets to boost the local economy and instill a sense of civic pride. Streets Alive! started in 2009 as an offshoot of the successful Orillia Festival of Banners. This first Streets Alive! event featured jury-selected artists transforming large-scale vinyl banners with their art live on the street. The Peter Street art block was buzzing with music, performance art and hands-on activity. The appeal of the event was particularly evident on the second day, as over 400 people lined up in the rain to vote for their favourite banners. The top four artists earned substantial People’s Choice cash prizes, and their banners joined the Festival of Banners collection for prominent display in Orillia. The project has grown each year, with more and more artists vying to get involved and word of our incredible artistic endeavours spreading farther afield. 2010 featured giant guitars. The next year brought wrought-iron sailboats with lexan sails as the artists’ canvas. 2012 celebrated Stephen Leacock, with sculptures modelled on his reading chair at his Orillia summer home. 2013 was a love letter to art; templates spanned the alphabet, with artists […]
Original art such as paintings, sculpture, pottery, jewellery and a few surprises offered for sale at great prices. The gallery takes no commission!
In the very heart of Orillia sits a fairy-tale building, and inside that building, legends are born. Since 1895, the city has dreamed, laughed, wept and fought inside the Orillia Opera House. Many of the city’s defining moments have taken place under its landmark twin spires. The 700 seat auditorium was a movie house from the 20’s until the late 50’s. It was a favourite place on a Saturday for a kid to spend an afternoon for a quarter. Known for its fine acoustics has featured such artists as the Marx Brothers, Glenn Gould, Oscar Peterson, k.d. lang, Mickey Rooney, Dan Hill, Liona Boyd, Blue Rodeo, George Canyon, Paul Brandt, Ron James, Manteca, Lighthouse, The Stampeders and our own hometown boy, Gordon Lightfoot, which had the main auditorium named in his honour in 1997. As well as, many would-be greats such as school bands and local theatre groups. The Orillia Opera House is well known for their summer theatre programs. Make sure to check out the events listing on our website or visit the Opera House Website for information on these programs.