Click/swipe over logo to view gallery

The Simcoe County Museum was created in 1928 by Women’s Institute members Mrs. C.P. Stocking and Mrs. R.A. Sutherland. The collection was first displayed at the Barrie Public Library, then the Barrie Registry Office. In the 1950s, the County of Simcoe took responsibility for the collection, and the first wing of the Museum was opened on Highway 26 (at the current location) in 1962. Over the years, the museum has grown significantly, and now is composed of a five gallery facility with sixteen outdoor heritage and display buildings. At the Simcoe County Museum, we believe that our visitors should be able to experience history first hand in a museum that is engaging and exciting. Come to the Museum and discover the stories behind our collection of over 30,000 artifacts!

Get Directions